Day Two: Flu Recovery Week

September 15, 2009

Eden is still home sick and still doesn’t want me to go all the way to the gym, but she can manage me taking a long walk around the neighboorhood. I walked Cate to school (10 min) then took the dog for a long walk. I walked two of the five “søers” or lakes that run through the middle of Copenhagen. My understanding is that they were orginally part of the old moat system, but are now cement lined and only about 4ft deep. An incredible variety of birds live there tho, including swans who build giant nests in the Springtime. I enjoy walking around it and it’s part of my year round ritual of watching the season change in an urban setting.

While I walked I listened to Seth Godin’s Tribes,  which I may do as a read-a-long at Magpie Girl. … Although I’m not very impressed by the first chapter. He’s so technically oriented and I find his writing lacks soul. But I want something that might spur Soultribe planters on, so we’ll see.

Having to change my workout plan due to Eden’s illness has taught me something about my week and how I like to sort of ramp up into it. I have a lot of energy for writing work on Mondays, and hate loosing a large portion of the day (2hours at least) to traveling to the gym and doing my weights and swimming routine. But I always plan on doing that on Mondays so that I “get off to the right start.” But now I’m wondering if this isn’t a better slow-build plan that works well with my writing rhythm:

Mondays: 30 minutes tanning walk*, 45 minutes yoga on DVD (now with a singing bowl closing meditaiton thanks to a gift from Rebecca)
Tuesday: 1 hour walk/work “reading” via audible.com and podcasts
Wednesday: weights and swimming at gym
Thursday: walk and yoga or pilates on DVD
Friday: weights and swimming at gym

That only gets me to the gym two days a week, instead of 3. But timewise that might be more realistic for me right now, since the gym involves either a bus and a train ride or a bike and a train ride.

I’m also experimenting this week with my work rhythm and dinner prep. I often have a headache by dinner time and dread standing in the kitchen when I’m tired, chopping things that make my head hurt (i.e. onions.) And, I usually don’t feel like writing until noon or 1pm. I used to feel badly/lazy about that but now I know it’s just my functional working rhythm. (Praxis! Function! Hurrah!) So I’m playing around with working out and preparing most of our evening meal in the morning. Then showering and starting work. Even if my head is worse in the afternoon, I find writing more motivating to “push through” than cooking dinner. The only problem I’m having is that onions are killing my head to prepare, and everything I make has onions in it. I’m not reacting muscle-testing wise to onions/ no allergic reaction to eating them, but the fumes are killing me. I might have to go back to cooking without them again, but nothing tastes as good that way, and then I over eat because nothing satisfies taste-wise.  Back in the day when I ran Monkfish Abbey, Jennifer Roach used to chop onions for me and bring them to me frozen in ziploc baggies. That was so nice of her!

Okay, enough with the journaling. Time to go grab a shower and get to work. Neil sent me my new book layout today and I’m hoping it will spur me on into a writing frenzy and get another chapter or two churned out. (I think there are only 3, maybe 4 to go!)

Leave a Reply

